Skip to product information
1 of 4

Takuya Kuroda – Rising Son 2xLP

Takuya Kuroda – Rising Son 2xLP

Regular price $60.00 USD
Regular price $65.00 USD Sale price $60.00 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.


  • Returns can be accepted within 30 days of receiving the item.

  • Item(s) must be in the same condition as they were sent along with intact original packaging.

  • Pictures of the item and its packaging may be required.


A1. Rising Son

A2. Afro Blues

A3. Piri Piri

B1. Mala

B2. Everybody Loves The Sunshine

C1. Green & Gold

C2. Sometime, Somewhere, Somehow

D1. Call

D2. Everybody Loves The Sunshine (Joe Armon-Jones Remix)


First Word Records proudly presents an exclusive vinyl-only reissue of Takuya Kuroda’s acclaimed album ‘Rising Son’.

Album History

Originally released on Blue Note Records in 2014, ‘Rising Son’ marked Takuya Kuroda as the first Japanese artist signed to the label. The album topped Japan’s jazz charts and has since become a sought-after collector's item.

Label Collaboration

First Word Records, celebrating its 20th year in 2024, collaborates with Kuroda again after releasing his previous albums.

Artist Background

Kuroda, a Kobe-born trumpeter based in Brooklyn, blends jazz fusion, soul, hip hop, and afrobeat influences.

New Additions

This 2024 reissue includes a remix of ‘Everybody Loves The Sunshine’ by Joe Armon-Jones, known for his work with Ezra Collective.

Album Production

Produced by José James, the album features Nate Smith, Solomon Dorsey, Corey King, and Kris Bowers.

Critical Acclaim

‘Rising Son’ received praise from NPR Music, AllMusic, and other notable publications for its contemporary fusion of styles.

View full details